Principal Investigator

Welcome to the Quantum Mechanical Engineering Laboratory led by Dr. Houlong Zhuang at ASU. Dr. Zhuang is an assistant professor in mechanical and aerospace engineering in the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy at ASU. He received his doctorate in materials science and engineering at Cornell University. Prior to ASU, Dr. Zhuang was a postdoctoral researcher at Princeton University. Dr. Zhuang’s current research interests are quantum simulations, machine learning, and quantum computing.

Phone: +1-480-727-9321
Mailing Address: 501 E. Tyler Mall, ERC 385, Tempe, AZ 85287



PhD students:

Xinyu Jiang (co-advised with Dr. Qiong Nian)

Master students:

Payden Brown

Andrew Wasserbeck (co-advised with Dr. Christina Birkel)

Former group members:

Dr. Arvind Ramachandran (PhD student; co-advised with Dr. Klaus Lackner; First position: Scientific Software Developer at OpenEye Scientific)

Dr. Lei Liu (PhD student; Dean’s Dissertation Award recipient; First position: Research Scientist at Facebook)

Dr. Duo Wang (PhD student; First position: Postdoctoral Researcher at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

Anirudh Dabir (Master student; First position: Product Support Engineer at ASM America)

Sneha Lakamsani (SCENE student; U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize recipient; Hamilton High School, Chandler, AZ)

Jonathan Zhang (SCENE student; Basis Peoria)

Meghana Tripuraneni (SCENE student; Basha High School, Chandler, AZ)

Junxin Wang (visiting research assistant; currently a PhD student at Ohio State University)

Wenjiang Huang (MORE student; currently a PhD student at Virginia Tech)

Chance Price (FURI student; currently an undergraduate student at ASU)

Erik Eshima (currently an undergraduate student at ASU)

Eugene Agravante (FURI student)

Neha Basu (SCENE student; BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ)

Tanay Vedartham (SCENE student; BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ)

Joel Joseph (SCENE student; Mesquite High School, Gilbert, AZ; currently an undergraduate student at ASU)

Sreeharsha Lakamsani (SCENE student; Hamilton High School, Chandler, AZ; currently an undergraduate student at ASU)

Sameer Vij (SCENE student; Corona Del Sol High School, Tempe, AZ; currently an undergraduate stduent at Georgia Tech)

Immanuella Kankam (FURI and MORE student; currently a Process Engineer at Intel Corporation)

Pedro Martin (FURI student; currently a PhD student at the University of Kentucky)